Tullamore Women Claim Leinster Division One Title And Earn Promotion To All Ireland League

Thursday, 9 March 2017

Tullamore Women Claim Leinster Division One Title And Earn Promotion To All Ireland League thumbnailShannon Touhey of Tullamore celebrates with teammate Kim Cobbe after the Leinster Women's League Division 1 Playoffs match between Tullamore and Rathdrum at Donnybrook Stadium in Donnybrook, Dublin. MT10893JOC

HISTORY was made in Donnybrook on Saturday as Tullamore Women claimed the Leinster Division 1 League title defeating Rathdrum 10-9. The win means Tullamore will be an All Ireland senior side next year, like their male colleagues in what is a massive achievement for the club.
Rathdrum had the better of the early stages but the scoreboard wasn't called into action until the 30th minute when Rathdrum landed a penalty. They added another soon after as they led 6-0 at half time with Tullamore showing little in terms of attack.
Tullamore came out a different animal in the second half and after several phases on the Rathdrum try line they were eventually rewarded when winger Caroline Ahern dotted down in the corner, Pauline Keating's conversion attempt falling short of the posts.
A yellow card to Nichola Fryday set Tullamore back and a penalty from Rathdrum left them 9-5 ahead and in control.
The teams continued to test each other's defences in the last quarter of the game but it was Tullamore that struck when Roisin Feighery touched down from the back of a maul.
Despite the conversion going wide Tullamore were in front for the first time in the game, the score now 10-9. With full-time approaching fast, Rathdrum knew their chance to grab victory was slipping.
They made one final push, working their way into Tullamore territory. When the referee awarded a penalty, Dowling opted to kick for the corner.
Rathdrum worked a great driving maul and moved through a few phases, but they were turned over and Tullamore kicked the ball into touch to clinch the Division 1 title.
The Tullamore panel was as follows; Alma Egan, Amanda Hollingsworth, Brigid Hyland, Caroline Aherne, Chloe Lowry, Ciara Dunican, Ciara Farrell, Clare Cantwell, Clare Currams, Claire Redmond, Ellen Molloy, Emer Phelan, Evelyn Browne, Jill Draper, Kate McCann, Katie Byrne, Katie Murray, Katie O'Brien, Kim Cobbe, Maria Bracken, Nichola Fryday, Patrice Browne, Pauline Keating, Pauline Heinemann, Rachael Dunne, Roisin Feighery, Roisin Kane, Rose Dunne, Saidhbh McIntyre, Shannon Toughey,Veronica Smyth.
Coaches: Colin Hughes, Ciaran Lynch and Conor Hegarty; Team Manager: Susan Bagnall. Physio: Ray Quinn.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete