Brady and Curley impressive winners at Offaly Senior Cross Country

Thursday, 9 November 2017

Brady and Curley impressive winners at Offaly Senior Cross Country thumbnailThe Offaly Senior Cross Country Championship medal winners. Left to right, Paul Buckey 2nd, Liam Brady 1st and Mick Fogarty 3rd.

The third and final day of this year's Offaly Cross Country Championships was a great success for host club Ferbane who won the Senior club title in the men's 10,000 race last Sunday.

The individual titles were won by Tullamore Harriers' Pauline Curley and Liam Brady both of whom were successfully defending their crowns on the day.

While Liam Brady led the Tullamore team to silver medals, Paul Buckley was second overall combining with Mick Fogarty (3rd), Declan Fahey (5th) and Wayne Reid (7th) to achieve an overall score of 17 points to win the competition.

While Brady was a clear winner at the front of the race, there was tough competition in the pack behind as athletes battled for the placings that would make a difference to the team scores.

Paul Buckley and Mick Fogarty finished strongly to secure the win for Ferbane with just two points separating them from second place which went to Tullamore Harriers on 19 points. Naomh Mhuire Daingean fielded a strong team to claim third place on 57 points.

There was a disappointing turnout for the ladies' 6,000m race with Tullamore being the only team in contention.

Pauline Curley took the win just a week after her podium finish at Dublin City Marathon leading her clubmates Katy O'Keefe and Dympna Condron to second and third spots respectively.

Ladies results:

1st Pauline Curley (TH); 2nd Katy O'Keefe (TH); 3rd Dympna Condron (TH); 4th Michelle Mullaney (TH); 5th Tara McKinney (TH);

6th Sheila Gaffey (Clara); 7th Hilary Duncan (TH); 8th Aisling Farrell (NMD); 9th Kathleen Delaney (Birr); 10th Una Horgan (Clara).

Team winners: Tullamore Harriers


Men's results:

1st Liam Brady (Tullamore Harriers); 2nd Paul Buckley (Ferbane); 3rd Mick Fogarty (Ferbane); 4th Paul Mitchell (TH); 5th Declan Fahy (Ferbane);

6th Padraig Ennis (TH); 7th Wayne Reid (Ferbane); 8th Padraig Berry (TH); 9th Eddie Garry (TH); 10th Brendan Donagher (Naomh Mhuire, Daingean);

11th Catch Grennan (Ferbane); 12th Jimmy Coughlan (NMD); 13th Matthew Molloy (TH); 14th Leonard Mooney (TH); 15th Jason Donegan (TH);

16th Darren Birmingham (TH); 17th Tony Harper (TH); 18th Ethan Dunican (TH); 19th Ger Cleary (NMD); 20th Dave Staunton (Clara);

21st Darren Butler (TH); 22nd Fra Mollen (TH); 23rd Harry Flynn (TH); 24th Peter Bennet (TH); 25th Adrian Delaney (NMD);

26th Kevin Brazil (Ferbane); 27th Aidan Egan (TH);


1st Ferbane (17 pts); 2nd Tullamore Harriers (19pts); Naomh Mhuire Daingean (57th pts)


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete