Dublin marathon



The last weekend of October is significant to many for turning the clocks back and the start of Winter but for over 20,000 people who participated in the Dublin Marathon last weekend , it was a far bigger deal. The Airtricity Dublin Marathon is now one of the largest marathons in Europe and in its 39th year it continues to grow steadily.Starting at 9am, the first wave of participants took off from Merrion Square. The route spanned 26 miles around Dublin as the runners continued on down the Quays, into the Phoenix Park, Crumlin, Walkinstown, Kimmage, Milltown, back towards Leeson St, before finishing at back at Merrion Square where their journey began all those miles and hours ago. The first man over the line in 2:13:26 was Asefa Bekele from Ethopia, with fellow Ethopian -Mesera Dubiso , 1st lady with a time of 2:33:47.. Mick Clohisey of Raheny Shamrock A.C. completed the Dublin Marathon in 2:15:57, winning the Athletics Ireland Marathon Championship and Lizzie Lee from Leevale in Cork took the women’s National Marathon title with 2:34:48.Tullamore Harriers again had a super representation in Dublin – on and off the course. It has been remarked many times how many Tullamore Harriers supporters are visible around the city on marathon day. 1st man home for the club was Michael O’Brien with a very impressive time of 2:46:52. Next was Ray Ryan who along with Glen Finlay were well clear of the 3 hour margin with 2:53:44 and 2:57:19 respectively. Those who followed should be very proud of their performances too with some first timers, personal bests and personal goals achieved. Full Tullamore Harriers finishers;Michael O’Brien 2:46:52; Ray Ryan 2:53:44; Glen Finlay 2:57:19; Brendan Abbott 3:13:35; Peter Bennett 3:25:04; Leslie Buckley 3:10:47; Helena Buckley 4:03:01; Liam Byrne 3:27:11; Dorothy Condron 4:54:48; Basil Cronin 4:11:21; Hilary Duncan 4:34:21; Aidan Egan 3:27:16; Avril Flynn 3:44:29; Maria Gallagher 4:25:27; John Joe Galvin 3:29:27; Mary Galvin 3:47:53; Ruth Galvin 3:51:26; Mags Grennan 5:55:11; Fidelma Grennan 6:12:05; Mark Harpur 3:47:07; Tony Keegan 5:27:03; Josie Lalor 4:21:49; Rodge Larkin 3:30:42; Eugene Mann 3:49:57; Finian McDermott 3:19:24; Tara McKinney 3:38:02; Alan Mitchell 4:03:32; Aisling McCormack 4:34:38; Liz McEnef 6:12:05; Paula Nolan 3:50:55; Amanda Owens 4:11:20; Eugene O'Dea 3:32:24; Barbara O’Connell 5:58:06; John O’Connell 3:53;56; Declan Rosney 4:14:54; Darragh Rigney 3:15:58; Donal Rigney 5:29:00; Paddy Rowland 4:08:15; Ray Ryan 2:52:44Robbie Westman 3:24:25; Gary Whittle 3:16:44

Frankfurt marathons

While most of the club were Dublin bound on Sunday last, 4 of our other marathon runners were flying the flag for the club at the Frankfurt Marathon. With ideal conditions for running all posted great times and are relieved following the months of hard training.Leonard Owens – 3:30:08; Rita Daly 3:33:54; Denis Flynn 3:39:15; Paul Hensey 3:41:48

Paddy Larkin 3k

The annual Paddy Larkin 3k race was held on October16th with over 90 participants taking part. This ever popular race starts on the tartan track and leads out to the tarmac track creating a figure of 8 lap. The loop is completed twice finishing in the stadium. This race is the 1st round of the Winter League. . 1st man was Jason Donegan and keeping it in the family....his sister Nadine was 1st lady across the line. The race was followed by Mass which was celebrated by Fr Ciaran McGovern and is dedicated to all past members and their families who have passed. The crowd gathered for refreshments to finish off a lovely evening Full Results: Jason Donegan 9.35,  Mark Donegan 9.37, Leonard Mooney 9.38,  Padraig Berry 10.02,  Darren Butler 10.19,  Cian Martin 10.29( Guest), Jonathan Dunne 10.41,  Darragh Rigney 10.42, Chris Whittle 10.45 (Guest), Nadine Donegan 10.51,  Rory Farrell 10.52,  Gary Whittle 10.59,  Pauline Curley 11.00,  John Monaghan 11.01,  Danielle Donegan 11.04(Guest), Tomas Flaherty 11.06,  Leslie Buckley 11.12,  Alan Heffernan 11.19,  Nita Mcloughlin 11.46,  Ger Lynam 11.48,  Sean Reynolds 11.51,  Ian O'Kelly 11.54,  Dympna Fox 11.57,  Eanna Gowran 12.02,  Finian McDermott 12.03,  Rodge Larkin 12.04,  Ivan Dunne 12.06,  Mark Harpur 12.07,  Evelyn Herlihy 12.10,  Aidan G Egan 12.12,  Lesley Cornally 12.14,  Maeve Larkin 12.15, Eugene O'Dea 12.16,  Alan Mitchell 12.18,  Sarah Stephens (McConigley) 12.29,  Tara McKinney 12.31,Lar Tierney 12.39, Raymond Martin 12.42, Brendan Carroll 12.43,  Kenneth Doyle 12.45, David Doyle 12.46,  Diarmuid Finlay 12.52,  Paul Hensey 12.53,  Leonard Owens 12.54,  Francis Mollen 12.55,  Paul Shaw 12.58,  Karen Blaney 13.06(Guest),, Denis Flynn 13.11,  Margaret Grennan 13.13,  Mary Galvin 13.14,  Sean Spollen 13.15,  Lorraine Doyle 13.21(Guest). Aoife Marron 13.28.  Helena Buckley 13.32, Verona Smith 13.35, Emer Guilfoyle 13.38., Diarmuid Herlihy 13.40, Lavinia Leahy 13.47, Karen Martin 13.48, Marie Donegan 13.51, Anna Marie Guinan 13.57(Guest), Andy O'Grady 13.58, Tracy Kinnarney 13.59, Mary Hussey 13.59, Anthony Hughes 14.00(Guest), Martina Conlon 14.01,  John Ward 14.04,  Paddy Rowland 14.42, Olive Colgan 14.44,  Joe White 14.46,  Fallon Conlon 14.49,  Tracey Stewart 14.52,  Ann Marie McNamara 15.04(Guest), Amanda Owens 15.08,  Caroline O'Brien 15.10,  Paschal Naughton 15.17,  Olivia Egan 15.21,  Josie Lalor 15.24,  Sandra Busted 15.55,  Patricia Shaw 16.02,  Sharon Daly 16.07,  Joanne Kelly 16.09,  Jim Dolan 16.18,  Aisling McCormack 16.22,  Loretta Moran 16.39,  John McGowan 16.40, Dara Byrrne 16.49, Michelle Maher 16.50,  Angela Martin 17.14,  Ann Marie Lawlor 17.53,  Mary Fox Mann 18.04,  Sharon Larkin 18.10,  Catherine Dolan 20.19,  Melissa Hogan 20.48, Terese Whelan 21.21,  Sharon Newman 21.21.

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on Alpha Newspaper Group

Characters left: 1500